top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Puppy Bowl 2020

Marc Von Ahnen


Are you ready for some puppy bowl!!!


Here‘s a shock, I’m not into football (or any sport really) but I do enjoy Super Bowl Sunday. Typical it means fatty snack foods, cool new movie trailers, and I think a football game falls in there somewhere too.


In recent years, one of the more important things about this day is the Puppy Bowl. As I am sure everyone is aware of, I’m a dog lover. In fact I have a podcast dedicated to dogs


Check it out



Andrea asked if I wanted to meet up at Docs to watch the Puppy Bowl and I figurd it would be just people hanging out, drinking, while the game played on tv.

Oh boy, I was mistaken. First there was a cover charge. And that charge was $25? I’ve been to concerts that haven’t cost that much. But I found out that the proceeds went to a no kill dog shelter. That felt like a pretty good excuse to charge $25. Plus they had a line of tables overflowing with food, bbq sandwiches and cookies shaped like puppy paws.


On the stage there was a football field surrounded by a small gate, inside the gate where small black labs ready to find a forever home. The room was packed with not only people but get this, some people brought there dogs.


”I should’ve brought Fonzie,“ I said. “Oh, no. All of these dogs have been in the puppy bowl,” a woman told me.


Hold up! These are actual puppy bowl dogs? No one told me! I could’ve gotten there autographs!

I sort of floated and mingled for a bit, but when the game started Andrea, Ryan, and their kids, and, myself found a table and got ready. If you haven‘t seen the puppy bowl, it’s like the super bowl but way cuter. The players take the field we get their stats. There was a huge cheer for the Iowa puppies that were in the room with us, which probably terrified those puppies.

Bode and I picked a team to route for and everyone laughed and cheered. I guess I finally like sports.





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page