top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Post # 9 Iowa State Fair, Meg, BlackkKlansman

IOWA STATE FAIR

My friend from Portland, Kim, was in last night week wanted to go to the Iowa state fair.

Kim

The first thing I saw walking in was a sign for the worlds smallest horse and I had to laugh because the on the sign it also read "alive!" They had to make sure we were all aware that this wasn't in fact a small dead horse. It was only $2.00 so I felt I had to see the worlds smallest horse. In all honestly it didn't do anything. I guess I wanted it to ride a small bike or play a small piano but sadly it didn't. Just stood there. Also, the worlds smallest horse seems to dropping normal horse size turds.

I also saw the Rooster from Disney's Robin Hood that we built a monument to.

You can't hit the Iowa State Fair and not eat the food. The top of my list is always the Cajun chicken on a stick. This is one of my favorite foods and since I can only get it one time a year it was one of my first stops.

The first thing Kim wanted to see was the Butter Cow. The butter cow is impressive, along with some other sculptures, accept for that big block. It was a big square next next to a butter cow and butter tractor, I mean I could do that and I can barley tie my shoes. They were all cool but didn't hold a candle to those Christmas trees. I can't wait!

MEG

I have been waiting for this movie since 1999. I remember checking the book out at the East High Library and saying "this would be an awesome movie!" Not only have I loved this book but every book in the Meg book series, yes there are more than one. The movie kept starting and then stooping production for the past 20 years.

Finally it started moving forward and then they added Jason Statham as Jonas Taylor the real icing on the cake. I couldn't be more excited for this movie! 20 years in the making with one of my favorite action movie actors in the industry.

Remember how I said that I love every movie well sadly that isn't always true. I left this movie a little disappointed. I don't understand why some studio would buy the rights to a movie like Meg and then change or leave out major action moments? Maybe I am just to close to the book and need to see it again.

IOWA STATE FAIR 2

Sunday my dad wanted me to go to the fair again. I wasn't really in the mood because it felt like it was 100 degrees outside. My first reaction was to say

Finally I buckled and said alright I guess.

The second we got there I went straight to the cookies stand. They were so hot and fresh, you couldn't even grab them out of the cup, it's a nice home made snack at the fair. The only problem is there was no glass of milk to wash it down.

We also made our way to look at the local art work.

My favorite was this Superman telephone booth. Each side had a different actor from Superman actor painting on it changing from Clark Kent to Superman.

This was another fun painting of a young kid who I am assuming couldn't figure out how to use the water fountain. I laughed and wanted more of these pictures like a flip book. Did he ever figure it out or did he just give up and sit next to it and cry?

Here are some more pictures I enjoyed.

Blackkklansman

Tuesday night Romell, Ryan, and I got some wings and went to see Blackkklansman. I would be in the wrong if I said this was Spike Lee's best movie because I haven't seen all of his movies but this was the best I have seen and could go down as the best movie of the year. Unless a movie is made about a guy boning a fish.

There are parts of this movie that are laugh out loud funny but of course, knowing the context of the movie, also parts of the movie that are extremely uncomfortable, especially the last few minutes which left a knot in my stomach. Ryan said it best "Spike Lee isn't big on subtly."

Excellent movie! Highly recommended.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page