top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Post 10 # Disenchantment, Iowa State Fair, Hold For Swank, Blood Sweet and Tears and Zoo Brew

Disenchantment

Last Friday Netflix premiered Matt Groening's new show Disenchantment. It's Game of Thrones if it took place in Springfield. It is a little more serialized than Futurama and of course way more than the Simpsons which is pretty blatant about it's lack of continuity, which I think its part of it's charm.

Disenchantment

I have heard people saying they aren't feeling it but I don't get that. I've been enjoying it. I think the humor has been spot on and it feels like it knows its characters and have has the voices down. It took Homer a season to finally find his correct voice, same with Professor Farnsworth.

Iowa State Fair Hold For Swank

Saturday morning I had to go back to the fair. With in the first 20 minutes I think I ate my entire weeks worth of calories. A deep fried pickle dog, a pickle covered in cream cheese, wrapped in ham and deep fried. It was pretty good but then I washed that down with a funnel cake. I should have taken pictures for the blog but I ate everything before I thought about it.

Hold for Swank, a local pop punk band that names all of their CDs after Simpsons lines was playing on a free stage. I'm friends with a couple guys in the band. We bounded over Pop Punk and the Simpsons. They're a great band, in fact after I saw them I listened to their most recent CD

If that's your cup of tea check out their CD

https://holdforswank.bandcamp.com/

Blood Sweat and Tears

My dad and I got accosted by some DJs and they demanded a picture with us hunks.

Kim, Marc, Dad, Lindsey

We then went to see Blood Sweat and Tears. I honestly wasn't to interested in them, my dad got free tickets and asked if I wanted to go with him. My first reaction was "no thanks. I have sweat pants to wear and TV to watch." but then thought better of it. I can lay around another night. So I went back to the fair (I haven't been to the fair this many times in my entire life).

Blood Sweat and Beers

When it was all said and done they were really good. I couldn't think of any BS&Ts songs I knew off the top of my head but during the show they started playing some songs and I would clap and yell "Oh I know this one!" I'm happy I went to this show.

After the show I found a food stand that sold Cuban wraps and as I shoved that into my mouth, honey mustard running down my chin, I said "this might be the best food I have ever eaten."

You did it dad. I am a fan of the fair.

Zoo Brew

This summer we've been blasted by 100 degree weather every day but last night it was nice and cool. A perfect night to spend outside so some friends and I went to Zoo Brew at the Blank Park Zoo. If you're not familiar with Zoo Brew it's a night where they close the zoo down to those damn kids and let all the adults come in and drink and get in the cages and pet and play with the animals... well maybe that last one isn't true but the rest is pretty close. I don't know what was going on but the animals were way more active than I normally see them.

The baby Rhino was galloping around and the monkeys were swinging on the tires. It's sad because all the animals had to go in at 7:30 but it was clear they were ready to party!

At one point, Andrea told us to go check out the Snow Leopard and it sat with its back to us. To good to be seen with us. A real hipster cat, not impressed with our beer or music. Right as we were about to walk away I noticed a small chipmunk in its pen and said "that guy doesn't want to be in there."

Almost like it heard me the cat got up and pounced right for the chipmunk, it chased the chipmunk around the pen but it got away. Sneaking out through the bars. People cheered at this spectacle like it was sporting event or a gladiator battle.

I kid you not, the snow leopard looked at us and said "Are you not entertained?"

The only animal not active was the tortoise. I swear that thing could have been dead and no one would know.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page