top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Post 11 # Air Guitar World Championship, Huxley Stand up Comedy

Air Guitar World Championship

Last Thursday the wild cards got to compete to get a chance to perform in the world championship of air guitar. Flying Finn was one of the winners and got to compete again on Friday.

It was an impressive show! Bringing people from all over the global, American, Canada, Australia, Japan, together in Finland to compete and bring world peace.

Bill and Ted were right!

I was kind of surprised with how invested I got in this. I compete locally as the great Mean Gene Simmons but never really thought about it beyond our Iowa shores. Of course I was pulling for Finn, who got 4th!, but enjoyed watching all the performs and even thought, that could have been better to wow that was amazing! Ultimately it's incredible fun and I wish more people got into just for the spectacle and fun.

https://livestream.com/accounts/13119819/AGWC/videos/179339786

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xNLAwBBWkew

https://www.npr.org/2018/08/25/641889767/air-guitarists-compete-for-fame-and-glory-at-world-championships?utm_medium=RSS&utm_campaign=nprstoriesfromnpr&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=npr&utm_term=nprnews&utm_content=20180825

Huxley Show

Saturday Night I had a show with Joel and our friend Josh. It was in Huxley Iowa which is a small town about 30 minutes out of Des Moines. Joel and Josh did some pre show research and found out it's where a character from Buffy the Vampire Slayer came from. That's their history, in 114 years that is everything that has happened in Huxley. I asked about setting up a show in a bar and was told, they don't have a bar. So not a big place BUT it was really nice!

They even have old school vending machines!

I had an amazing night, they had a Prairie Day Festival, filled with food trucks, and bouncy houses and the three of us as the entertainment!

Entertainment!

It had a to be a PG 13 set so I had to remove a lot of my normal jokes. I thought my set went OK at best but people came up to me after saying they enjoyed it and wanted to see my normal R rated material, plus Josh and Joel killed so I guess it was a success.

Plus someone came up to me afterwards and said I was their soulmate! Mostly because I said Jenny from Foresst Gump was the greatest movie villain of all time, she came up to me and said "she's a real cunt!" Her words not mine!

Also, there was a booth selling kids toys and it was filled with mouse traps. You know, kids love those!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page