top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Board Games, Comedy Show, Roast

Board Games

Friday my buddy Romell and I got together to play a couple board games. The first game we set up was a game based on Batman the animated series by IDW.

Batman game

https://amzn.to/2RHqbKW

I was busy setting up the game while Romell was reading the directions. At some point we were both looking over the instructions like Indiana Jones trying to decipher his father's journal and then we both decided to postpone this game another night when we have more people.

Batman Board game

So we broke out Ren & Stimpy Monopoly

Ren & Stimpy

https://amzn.to/2Dbpi9N

It's classic Monopoly but with some Ren and Stimpy spice! They put Mr. Horse on the money, I think to inspire a person to say "No sir, I don't like it." When ever they have to pay rent or something.

Most of the fun came from quoting the show and then saying "if people who had never seen the show heard us talk about this they would think we are crazy."

Ren & Stimpy

Newton Iowa Comedy Show

A couple weeks ago I got a call from my brother who told me a friend of his was getting a party bus to take him to Newton (about 40 minutes away from where I live) to do a comedy show. He told him about me and wanted to know if I would be involved, albeit in a bit confusing way.

"So am I doing a set?"

"No. It's just a bunch of people doing stand up."

"Like an open mic?"

"Maybe and we will be on a bus."

"Am I doing stand up on the bus?"

"I don't know but I know it's a stand up comedy show."

"You know what have Tyler call me."

I get a call from Tyler who explains everything (he set up a show in Newton and is having a party bus take him and his friends there and wants me to tag a long and do some time). I said sure!

I get invited to his place before the show began but was unaware he was going to have a menu like something from a graduation or wedding. There was food every where and sadly I filled up on Chex Mix and gross hot dogs before I left.

We hung out at his house for a few I had a beer a couple jello shots, Tyler's wife told me the orange ones were strong. She wasn't kidding! This must have been what Bill Cosby was using.

We watched the end of the Iowa Game, I pretended I understood or cared about what was happening and soon the bus had arrived.

We took off and the party continued.

Per usual, once we got to the venue I began to get a little nervous. I hadn't really had time to do my set out loud and stumbling over words could kill the mood in the room. The crowd seemed pretty excited, which should be a good thing but some times it feels like that gives them an incentive to heckle.

Tyler got the crowd ready to go and he held them in the palm of his hand, hearing him get some laughs filled me with a little more confidence. He called me up and I took the stage I started with my UFC joke which got a good laugh and my nerves melted away.

I personally am not big on crowd work, not my forte, but there was a group of college age girls who I had fun messing with, mostly in my sex or dating segment of my set. After the show I found out that they are in nieces sorority maybe they will convince her that I am funny and not just embarrassing.

I walked off stage and felt like I had a killer set! After me was Onalee Kelley, a comedian who knew me from old Solomon parties and Last Laugh but we had never really talked. She also killed it. Her joke about not shaving her legs was the highlight of the night. I think it was one of those moments where everyone just had to stop and wait for me to finish laughing.

Finally Tyler hit the stage and he brought the house down, as he should. A comedy producer approached me afterwards and gave me his card saying "I'm really impressed. Reach out and we should work together again."

We hung out at the bar for a couple hours until the bus took us home. Overall, it was a great night!

Roast

I know with all this comedy talk you probably thought I was talking about a comedy roast. Well it's not, partially because I hated those. People would roast someone and then the next day I would get a call about how "they went to far." Ugh

I am talking about the meal. Roast was my dad's favorite meal that my mom would make so I decided to surprise him by making one.

I did some searching and found a recipe from Chef John at Food Wishes

https://foodwishes.blogspot.com/2011/10/classic-slow-cooker-beef-pot-roast.html

I woke up about 9 and started searing the meat and sauteing the onions and mushrooms. My dad stood in disbelief while he watched me prep this meal. "You're mother is turning over right now," he said. This could be a reference to my extreme dislike of Roast or perhaps that my culinary skills normally peaked at a bowl of cereal.

My mom would make roast in the stove but I went crock pot and Chef John said to serve it over mashed potatoes. This was my first foray into making those and I don't want to toot my own horn but holy crap! I can mashed potato! (Now tell me baby do you like it like this).

The aroma of roast filled the house all day and I would check on it and watch as the meat would fall a part in the crock pot. My gravy didn't thicken up as much as I had hoped but still it was a good roast.

Dogs I Saw Episode 2

Check out this weeks episode of Dog's I Saw to see if this dog is rated as a Good Boy

https://dogsisaw.podomatic.com

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page