top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, Comedy show at Principal Park, Aquaman

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

I was pretty excited when I heard that Sony was going to make an animated Spider-man movie. I had crossed my fingers that maybe they would adapt the lost third season of Spectacular Spider-man.

Spectacular Spider-man

https://amzn.to/2UJBUv4

That turned out not to be the case, sadly we will probably never see how this show would wrap up.

I wasn't to surprised when they announced that this one would focus on the Miles Morales Spider-man, one of Marvel's most recent breakout stars. I am sure it is a matter of time before we see a Ms Marvel in a movie. This really got my interest when I found out that it was going to feature a handful of Spider-men, focusing on Miles, Peter, Spider-Gwen, Spider-man Noir, and Spider-Ham.

Spider-man Noir is one of my favorite stories and I plug it all the time.

Spider-man Noir

https://amzn.to/2UJBUv4

The preview came out and it had a unique style to say the least, watching the animation I couldn't tell if I would like it. Some times it looked a little jerky, almost like old stop motion specials but of course I had to go.

Me and Spider-man

It's a comic book movie so I was there opening night, along with Carl, who took forever to get there. I sat by myself in the lobby shoving popcorn in my mouth, half of which landed on the floor. I loved the movie! It was a ton of fun and I laughed really hard a couple times.

I'm going to start with my pet peeves on it, I would have liked to see some of the Spider-man villains represented in their classic style, I know Miles is part of his own universe but I would hope we would see a Hobgoblin or Mysterio flashback, and although I did dig the designs sometimes Kingpin didn't work for me, kind of to extreme for my tastes. And no J Jonah Jameson? This is the 4th Spider-man movie in a row without Spider-man's best supporting character?

But those are all minor nitpicks to an overall fantastic movie! The animation style didn't bother me at all while watching it and there was a couple fun surprises. This version of Peter Parker was a real left turn. The spider villains ( despite the fact that didn't look like their classic counterparts) were extremely menacing. So much so that any time the Prowler is on screen the movie almost feels like a horror movie. I loved it. I loved Miles, Peter, Noir but I think Spider-man really took the show for me, if we can't get a Spider-Ham spin off movie why not a cartoon?

Spider-Ham

Principal Park Comedy Show

Jeff set up a show at Principal Park for the Caudilionaires a comedy troupe with Joel and myself and led by our good friend Jeff Caudill. This group means a lot to me because I feel like we have a great rapport, it's nice to have a no bs group that has gotten in the habit of putting together good shows!

https://www.facebook.com/Caudillionaires/?eid=ARCfRYJ_xb0ddSSsMXbZMXttE2PP6oRMNeI0Kp-ArZ7ULfy7sURcRpq8FLI0kr3y1EsbYnyNQm17s-uI

Joel was excited because he is a baseball fanatic and gets to perform at the I Cubs home Principal park. I was excited because it was only about 10 minutes away from home.

We arrived about 6:30 and since it is December it was already pitch black out and that gave me a pretty impressive view of Des Moines.

Des Moines

I didn't know they decorated the diamond with Christmas trees. Who are they doing this for? It's Christmas decorations surrounded by giant walls that us public figures don't get to see. I asked a ,very busy, woman working there if I could go outside and get a picture and was told don't open the door because the alarm would go off. Also don't steal any pepper shakers, in her defense Joel put about 5 in his pockets

My week was pretty busy, wrapping up school, final tests and uploading projects along with wrapping up final books. As well as talking about dogs takes up a lot of my time, who knew? I didn't have a chance to think about my set until Friday afternoon. I must have been feeling cocky because I filled my set up with a lot of new, untested jokes. I did some about Christmas songs and the Lord of the Rings movies (because those are still hot).

Bad set

Needless to say my set wasn't as strong as it could have or should have been but I brought Joel up he washed that bad Marc joke tastes out of their mouths.

Joel killing

Even thought I felt like I got us off on a bumpy start the night ended up as a pretty huge success and I got a free meal and sold some vampire shark comics!!

Also I put on this Santa hat to get a stupid picture before I noticed it was full of raffle tickets.

Me

After that we made our way to the Alpine for a little graduation party for some drinks and Simpsons Pinball!

Aquaman

I was thinking about Aquaman, not romantically of course, and I was wondering do I like Aquaman? I always claimed to like him but I was thinking "When have a I read an Aquaman comic?" I read a few but never a long stretch of them. I think I like Aquaman because he is always associated with marine animals and I love them!

Same with Black Manta, I don't think I have ever read a comic with Black Manta but claimed but a big fan of his. Maybe it's just because of his awesome design.

Black Manta

https://amzn.to/2EziKmJ

Amazon Prime was selling early tickets to Aquaman and I grabbed four tickets at Flix. I was excited for this movie because I love Aquaman (do I?) and it had sharks and I love sharks (I do)!

Aquaman takes place in a the DC movie universe, along with Man of Steel, Batman V Superman, Suicide Squad, Wonder Woman, and Justice League and this universe has been rocky at best, so Aquaman being good was kind of a crap shoot.

Well, it's not good... It's fantastic! The tone crosses lines from being a super hero movie, to a Game of Thrones style epic, to an Indiana Jones adventure movie, with a Lord of the Rings epic battle tossed in.

I have heard people complain that Spider-man Into the Spider-verse moved to fast but that had nothing on this movie. Holy crap Aquaman slow down a little but that's not a bad thing. There was a ton to do in a very little amount of time.

I was pleased that they used Aquaman's ability to communicate with animals and in some pretty clever ways. The only negative I can think of is that when they got into a giant battle and people attacked the great whites I wanted to yell "THOSE ARE ENDANGERED!"

Also, this movie has water running the entire time. Try not to pee during it.

Dogs I Saw

Last but not least, check out this weeks episode of dogs I saw.

https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/dogsisaw

Dogs I Saw

Finally, this will be my last post of 2018!

Have a Merry Christmas from Cobra Commander and myself!

Merry Christmas

As always, thank you for reading the blog. I hope you enjoyed it. And if you did please subscribe.

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page