top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Bumblebee

Bumblebee

I decided not to blog during my Christmas break. I took a few days off after Christmas and was going to have a lot of extra time to watch movies, catch up on TV shows, nap, and so on. I was so swamped these last few months finishing school and I was really really looking forward to it.

Then I got the worst cold! I spent the entire week in bed. It's a good thing I didn't write a blog last week because it would have been "I'm in my bed. Dying."

I didn't start to feel better until the Saturday after Christmas.

I was finally able to do something so I got up and went to see Bumblebee

Bumblebee

Like most people my enjoyment of the live action Transformers movies have been "ok" to "oh God why are they doing this?" I had four free tickets to that last Transformers movie and I had trouble finding people to go with me. Micheal Bay has really driven this franchise into a wall and then off a cliff and then into a lake and then lit the car on fire.

My big complaint with those movies is the simple fact that none of them look like Transformers. I have no connection to these characters or things. Yes they share some of the names but that's it.

I heard that Bumblebee was getting his own standalone movie and I wasn't sure if I needed that... Until the trailer started to hit and they showed a clip of the Transformers on Cybertron and for the first time these movies came out they looked like classic Transformers. I was working at Jays the day this trailer hit and I asked my friend Trey if he watched it.

"No. I don't care about Transformers movies because none of them look like Transformers."

He watches the preview

"WHOA!"

It seemed like after all this time, we would get a Transformers movie.

Everything I heard was that this movie was fantastic so my excitement level was pretty high but did it live up to it my hype? Well, I don't know. See another big problem I have with the Transformers movies is that they tend to be 3 hours long and the first 90 minutes are about Sam going to college or getting a job or Mark Wahlberg trying to save his farm or something else as stupid. Why can't the Transformers be the stars of the Transformers movie?

Bumblebee has the same problem, much of the plot focuses on a young girl named Charlie Watson, in fact most of the movie is about Charlie Watson. Bumblebee is more of a supporting character in this. It's better written and acted than the past five Transformers movies but still it's not what I wanted from a Transformers movie.

This came off more like a remake of ET or Iron Giant than the next installment in the Transformers series and maybe it was supposed to because it is in fact a Bumblebee movie and not a Transformers movie. Don't get me wrong, it's very good. Excellent even. It just wasn't what I was prepared for and I am still waiting for that Transformers.

PS it does get bonus points for playing "The Touch" By Stan Bush

Dogs I Saw

We have a new episode of Dogs I Saw.

https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/dogsisaw/episodes/2019-01-01T13_56_18-08_00

Dogs I Saw

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page