top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Lamb Shanks, Death of Superman and Reign of the Supermen

Lamb Shanks

My brother got me a cookbook for Christmas and I thought I would share my first foray into this cooking adventure.

What the Fuck Should I Make For Dinner

https://amzn.to/2RTbhFe

Let me make something clear, I am not a cook. Before this past year the most I knew how to cook was home made tacos or maybe scrabbled eggs (they became scrambled after I messed up flipping them) so this is a new experience for me. I have tried making other things but nothing like lamb shanks. In fact after I started getting all the stuff for this someone asked me "have you ever had lamb before?" and I don't think I had. I think I was confusing pork chops with lamb chops.

Time to work my magic.

I went and bought everything I needed except for the lamb shanks because it turns out the meat department in the grocery stores by my house don't carry that normally. My dad helped me out and found a place that had to special order some.

"How many do you need?"

"6," I responded.

"Ok. I got 14."

Great! We can have a side of lamb shanks with our lamb shanks.

This past Sunday was the first time we would both be home so I woke up Sunday morning and began to sear the lamb and chopping up the onions and carrots (we skipped the celery because my dad treats that like it's poison).

Things were going smoothly until I had to add all my stock and red wine to the pot. First the recipe called for 6 glasses of red wine and I only bought 2 and a half cups because we only wanted a nice dinner, not get drunk off our asses. Also, I bought broth instead of stock and quick research told me that they are in fact two different things, this is a lot harder than making tacos.

But no turning back now. I put everything into the dutch oven and then slid it into the stove, and let me say dutch oven's are heavy! My grandma used to use one and she must have been a secret body builder because I was thinking I would need a pulley system or something to get it out of the stove.

https://amzn.to/2MebMo1

I wasn't sure what would be a good side to go with lamb shanks, chips? crackers? So I bought a small box for corn bread muffins.

corn bread

It was finally time to set the table.

Finished meal

I decided that we all had to take the first bite at the exact same time because I didn't want one of us to die from food poisoning and have the others pass on the meal. The way I see it is I'm going to die eating this then I was going to take everyone with me.

Luckily no one died! Not only did my meal not kill anyone but more importantly a couple people went back for seconds! They complimented me and told me that it was delicious. I did have a sense a pride as the lamb just slid off the bone.

BOOM!

But I didn't really care for it. I really enjoyed my corn bread muffin and the key lime pie dessert but the lamb didn't do anything for me. I guess my pallet is just set to tacos and pizza. It's a good thing we only have about 8 more in the freezer.

DEATH OF SUPERMAN AND REIGN OF THE SUPERMEN

The next DC animated movie has released and this past weekend they had a double showing in the theater part 1 being Death of Superman followed by Reign of the Supermen.

https://amzn.to/2T3AZUM https://amzn.to/2T3BhLm

I owed Scott some cash so I got the two of us tickets to go but, sadly, his girlfriend woke up sick and he couldn't go, I asked Carl if he wanted to take the ticket and he pulled a classic Carl "Oh, I don't know. Let me get back to you." and then you wait 3 hours for a "I can't do it." Just say no dude. I even asked my friend Cory and he had to work till 1 so he had to pass, which sucked because this started at 12:55.

To be honest I wasn't thrilled about Death of Superman when it came out because that story was already adapted once into a DC movie but this one would feature a Doomsday fight with the entire Justice League so that was exciting.

https://amzn.to/2ROw3pr

Overall Death of Superman is just a long fight scene, everything is an after thought to the giant Superman/Doomsday fight, which is spectacular. Watching Batman run and dodge Doomsday for as long as he did was extremely thrilling, or Wonder Woman getting pummeled and then deciding she had had enough and reached for her sword, taking the kid gloves off was fist pumpingly awesome even though you knew she was out of the fight. I loved all of it right up to the final death of both Superman and Doomsday.

But that doesn't start until maybe 40 minutes into the movie. The first half is Clark and Lois trying to understand what to do with their relationship. Should Clark tell him he's Superman? Or would that be too dangerous? It's not bad but we've seen it all before. I have seen that story adapted at least twice before. In fact I messaged Cory and said you should have come late because nothing happens for the first hour.

Reign of the Supermen is much better. When a plethora of new Supermen arrive in Metropolis all claiming to the be the Superman it sets up a mystery and the stakes get really raised when the entire Justice League is taken out of commission.

The best part of the entire double feature was Rainn Wilson's Lex Luthor. I don't know where that came from, maybe someone watched the Office and said "Dwight should fight Superman." But it was inspired casting. He maybe the second best Lex Luthor after Clancy Brown.

And that's it for this week! As always thanks for reading and if you enjoyed this please subscribe.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page