top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Vampire Shark Comedy Tour Issue 2

Vampire Shark Comedy Tour Issue 2

I saw a bad omen on the way to Iowa City, I figured the show was going to be a disaster when Wes and I drove past a giant herd of wind turbines and I knew we got a strong dose of Wind Cancer.

Wind Cancer

Some how we survived and made the hour and a half trip safely. We got into Iowa City a little after 3 in the afternoon which gave us plenty of time to enjoy the area before our show at 6.

Our first stop was Day Dreams Comics, to see if we could get a few issues of Ahab Van Helsing placed, while there I picked up an issue of Johns Floating Bunny Head and Amazing Spider-man 410 the first appearance of Spider Carnage.

My friend JR Scherer of Newton Iowa always claimed that Carnage was Marvel's greatest villain.

"He's like Let Luthor, The Joker, Satan, and Professor Moriarty rolled into one. The greatest villain in any form of media," he has been quoted saying over and over again. I don't like Carnage that much but I did grow up with Maximum Carnage so I have a soft spot for him.

After that we hit a bar called the Dublin Underground and hung out with fellow comedian Daneil "Chooch" Frana, it was important for me to get a picture of both of our tattoos.

Cooch and Bogus: A new folk due.

The Dublin Underground is an awesome pub with...

The most appropriate for the evening was an old diving helmet.

Diving Helmet

PS that face wasn't there when I took the picture. We need to get Chris Schlicting to investigate.

We spent a couple hours drinking and discussing our favorite celebrity crushes. I even pushed the vampire shark on to people.

Chooch finally asked "What's the line up for tonight?" He told me he planned on doing about 15. I planned on doing about 15 to 20. And Wes was planning on about 5 to 7. So unless Spencer was going to do 2 and a half hours we needed to get more people on ASAP. Both Chooch and Spencer jumped on their phones and reached out and grabbed some funny local people.

Around 5 I was good and buzzed and needed to get some food inside of me. So Wes and I made our way up to Nodo, literally right upstairs and ordered some sandwiches. While we waited for food Wes and I, and my awesome local friend Brad, set up the room and merch tables.

Once everything was ready to go our food arrived. I got a grilled banana and peanut butter sandwich, it was tasty. And get this, while I was eating a giant ringed whole opened up in the ground and Elvis Presley pulled himself out of hell and shook my hand and told me "good pick."

Adding the extra comedians was a great idea, not only did each one kill it but they padded the audience! I didn't catch all of their names but they really killed it, considering the fact that they only had about 1 hour to prep.

I believe his name is Aziz

I have to highlight him because when I first saw him I thought "Holy crap that dude looks like Grorcho Marx!" If Grocho did Patrick Bateman's morning working twice a day.

There was also Q, someone who I have worked with before in Show Us Your Pokeballs shows. I didn't know it was possible to get so much material out of 101 Dalmatians.

Every comedian really nailed it. It was fantastic show all around! And I even sold some Vampire Shark comics!

After that went back down to Dublin Underground and had a little post party, it was a fantastic night of comedy and vampire sharks!

Also, issue 3 is on sale now! Get yours at Jays CD and Hobby or send me a message on WIX

On the stands!

On the stands

Check out the newest episode of Dogs I Saw

https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/dogsisaw/episodes/2019-04-23T14_10_30-07_00

https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/dogsisaw/episodes/2019-04-23T14_10_30-07_00

For more check out my store at

https://ahabvanhelsing.threadless.com/?fbclid=IwAR3ZvdDuiiGYBp7oBd4jUMaSQLUngbuy1L60n430W3bkKTwnn-5s3dLvia0

And as always Thank you for reading and if you enjoyed it PLEASE SUBSCRIBE

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page