top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Indie Comix Expo

Indie Comix Expo

It was almost May and I wasn't expecting to be told we need to leave early due to snow but that's what happened.

The day begin with my alarm clock going off at 6 AM and I regretted signing up for this but it was a good opportunity so I pulled myself out of bed and hit the shower. I drank a coffee and watched an episode of the Simpsons, a newer one that actually made me laugh, until Trevor showed up. And we were off.

The two hour drive went smoothly, Trevor and I were some of the first to show up at the Expo. Soon other faces began to arrive and I tried to introduce myself to them and then my good friend and collaborator Jonathan Sims arrived and set-up next to us.

You can check out Jonathan's work at

https://www.skelenaut.com/?fbclid=IwAR1Vr-saSjDc3MTk02NaR1eovVxrNHZ2nNbIvKgYGbfjjbeaQ7_U_VxbzvQ

The show began and people flocked to Trevor and picked up his new comic Datura, along with Eclipse.

https://www.facebook.com/DaturaComic/

I was pretty happy for him, at first. But after his 5th sale and I was tempted to have him go sit in the car. People picked up my vampire shark comic too. One man bough the first issue and then came back later in the day for issues 2 and 3! A couple people also grabbed Millie the Duck.

The event took place at NewBo City Market, a fantastic place to hold an indie comic book expo because all of the shops were locally owned. You had your pick of whatever you wanted, Get Fresh, a health conscious option, Roaster's Coffee House, Nealson's Ice Cream, a bar serving local brewed suds, I had a pulled pork sandwich and jalapeno cornbread muffin. It was a savory meal to be sure but I kind of regret not getting out of box more with this opportunity.

Or maybe I just thought that after I spent 5 minutes impressing the good looking girl at Get Fresh with my amazing Bane impression doing Forrest Gump lines.

We had some slow moments during the show but there was a steady stream of people coming to our tables. I introduced myself to other Indie Comic creators. And even got Phil Hester, an Iowa comic book name, to appear on Dogs I Saw.

It was a pretty extraordinary day!

Dogs I Saw

Check out the most recent episode of Dogs I Saw

https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/dogsisaw/episodes/2019-04-30T10_18_06-07_00

This weeks episode is dedicated to Scooby. A potential good boy!

https://www.arl-iowa.org/adopt/66952/find-a-pet/pet-detail/

This week I talk to Mr. Phil Hester. We discuss upcoming The Wretch omnibus and his comic series Firebreather. He also has the darkest Dogs I Saw story ever! If you enjoy please like and follow.

Thank You for reading and if you did enjoyed this please SUBSCRIBE.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page