top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Ericon

Ericon

Who would have thought that a comic con in a Boone Iowa would be so fantastic!

My friend, Dean Sturtevant, told me about this convention in the Ericson Public Library.

https://www.facebook.com/GreenUnicornArt/

I had nothing planned last Saturday so I filled out the paperwork and got Kaylin and I signed up to sell our stories about football playing ducks and vampire sharks. Boone is about an hour drive from Des Moines and since it started at 9 we had to leave by at least 7:30. Saturday morning when my alarm went off at 6:0 I regretted signing up for anything. But I heroically pulled myself out of bed and picked up a waiting Kaylin and we drove off.

We got to the library about 8:30 and, carrying our merchandise inside, someone pulled out a Harry Potter wand and pointed it at me. He may have cursed me in some way.

Our plan was to drive and then find a McDonalds to eat breakfast but fun fact the only McDonalds in Boone Iowa had burned down it seemed. So instead we went to a small bakery and got donuts.

Pretty much the second we got back in and to our table it was 9 and the crowds started coming in. There was a costume contest and the people of Boone didn't disappoint. One girl dressed in an amazing Donald Duck costume and I made Kaylin feel really uncomfortable when I told the person in the costume that "Donald Duck doesn't wear pants."

My favorite costume was a young kid in a Stay Puft Marshmallow Man.

People came to my table regularly, I gave my pitch about the vampire shark comic being inspired by Evil Dead 2 and Army of Darkness. I made a number of sales that day. My experience at cons is that you have a lot of down town but this day it was packed and busy all day! Before the show had began I asked my friend Noah 'OX' Baas if he wanted to record an episode of Dogs I Saw but we never had time. That's pretty spectacular.

The highlight of the morning for me was when a man that I didn't know walked up to my table and said "I didn't know you were going to be here."

"I just signed up this week."

"I got all your issues at Jays."

I couldn't believe it someone I didn't knew or I hadn't forced them to buy every issue at gun point know the vampire shark! It was a pretty amazing feeling. Like this little vampire shark story is gaining steam.

All in all it was a fantastic con and I am really excited about next years.

Dogs I Saw

Also check out this weeks episode of Dogs I Saw

https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/dogsisaw/episodes/2019-06-21T06_19_44-07_00

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page