top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

BIG NEWS!!!!!!!!! South Carolina Open Mic, Captain Comics, Edisto Island Book Store

BIG NEWS!!!!!!!!!

Before I get into my normal blog I wanted to let you know that Issue 4 of the Vampire Shark is almost completed! All the pages are in and lettered! I am about ready to get it printed and it would mean a lot to me if you wanted to help me out.

One way to support it would be to check out my store and get your some sweat vampire shark swag. Are you in the market for a vampire shark shower current, or duvet, or baby onesie? Well now is the time!

https://ahabvanhelsing.threadless.com/?fbclid=IwAR3vbCEwWExyRevVstZq6xvAOPWXM0uXDY8BWWWl7HONRL9eeC48PtNMJy8

South Carolina Open Mic at the Sparrow

The Sparrow

Before I left for South Carolina I found a comedy group on facebook and asked about any Open Mics. I was pointed to a show at the Sparrow on Mondays.

I felt right at home there because the bar was filled with nerd bric-a-brac. A shelf on the wall by the bar was decorated with Funko Pop Figures. There were a few Harry Potter pops, Game of Thrones, and even a Cobra Commander! There was a glass case at the front filled with South Park figures, Futurama toys and even a few Simpsons were peppered in.

I made small talk with a few of the comedians, everyone I talked to was insanely nice. And then I paced in the back as I began to think of my set.

The show eventually began and the room was on fire. Each comedian was hilarious, each joke caused an eruption of laughter from the crowd. I was placed at number 15 so I had a lot of time to hear these comedians kill, get huge laughs, and think to myself "Jesus Christ, all my jokes suck! I am going to make an ass of myself."

Finally it was my moment to shine, I tossed most of my jokes to the wind, I figured that a room with so much comic book and cartoon memorabilia, plus one comedian did a joke about GI Joe PSAs!, it would probably be a good time to do my Stan Lee Myspace joke. People seemed to enjoy my stuff. Overall it was a pretty spectacular night, every comedian was hilarious and super cool and a few lucky people had got bitten by the vampire shark! If you're a comedian going through the Charleston area check out this open mic it was a fantastic time!

Captain Comics

I feel like I am pushing a new religion on people with how much I talk about the vampire shark. Wednesday (new comic day) I made my way to a comic book store called Captain Comics. In the front window they had an Alien standee fighting Spider-man. I tried to get a picture but had no luck because of that damn sun.

It was a nice store, awards adorned the wall and everyone working there was supremely cool! I picked up a few weekly comics and the first Grumble trade.

Edisto Island Book Store

After lunch I stopped off at the Edisto Island Book Store, I know I have said that everyone was incredibly nice BUT the guy that owned this book store maybe the nicest human alive!

He took his time to talk to every customer, which was probably part of his master plan to keep customers in the store for longer. He took one look at me and commented on my shirt, a vampire shark shirt designed by the great Gary McCluskey.

https://ahabvanhelsing.threadless.com/designs/test/mens/t-shirt/regular?color=smoke

I explained that it was a comic book I wrote and he said "Do you have any? I would be happy to buy some off you!" That's a first time for me. I told him I had just run out but would happily send him some. I then asked him about shark teeth he had and he explained he had a friend that did shark teeth expeditions and then gave me his brochure. I felt like I walked into an episode of Reading Rainbow... and Yes I demanded a picture with him.

Edisto Island Vacation

I thought I would just add a few random pictures from vacation.

Dogs I Saw

Last but not least check out this weeks episode of Dogs I Saw. I interview by good friend Dante Powell. He beat me in a comedy contest Monday night so feel free to send him death threats!

https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/dogsisaw/episodes/2019-07-30T08_42_33-07_00?fbclid=IwAR0nvYb2U6--S1ZGb-L4Z262RZIOnClAfNFqPXsswH1R4q4GH0JuJ5808_M

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page