top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Herbie and the Glow Fish (Hootie and the Blowfish) and Barenaked Ladies (the band not the fun ones)

Iowa State Fair food!

Travis and I hit the fair a few hours before Hootie and Blowfish started and I went to town on fair food. I ate so much fried goodness I should be given a medal. My plan was to start with this new stand that sells wraps, I stumbled on them last year and they were spectacular. Like a holiday meal, something I look forward to consuming one time a year.

Travis and I found the stand but they had a huge line, I guess others stumbled on my secret. Travis told me that this place had a restaurant in the Valley Junction area called G. Mig's 5th Street Pub. I decided that food that good deserved an actual trip to the restaurant.

In lieu of the wraps I went to my old Stand By Cajun Chicken on a Stick, this has been a fair staple for me before I even got to cool for the fair. (Special note, I am not too cool for anything). After that I found someone selling Mexican corn, this is corn on the cob covered in melted butter, mayo, cheese, and chili powder. I needed to try it mostly because I wanted to re-enact Nacho Libre.

After that I tried a small apple slushy, it was fine, pretty much frozen apple juice. Then I made Travis look at the fish with me and then the ducks, that's where I saw the most heavenly food stand that ever stood!

Chicken and Waffles...on a stick! 2 for $10 so I treated Travis to a stick as well. I drenched it in maple syrup, as a good fair going man should.

That was followed up by a small cup of ice cream frozen by nitroglycerin. It was vanilla. I was afraid it may turn me into the liquid metal terminator from T2. Luckily I didn't freeze and break apart but I did eat an extremely smooth cup of ice cream.

And then I ate chicken fingers at the concert.

Barenaked Ladies

Unless you died in 1989 you know who the Barenaked Ladies are because they bombard the American air waves with their song One Week in the 1990s. I liked a few of their songs but was never a real fan of theirs; I did enjoy the humor and fun they injected into their songs. Listening to their set list I realized they had more songs I enjoyed than I thought I did; they had "One Week" "If I Had a Million Dollars" "It's All Been Done" and "Pinch Me." They even wrote a little rap about seeing the butter cow at the Iowa State Fair, I wonder what they could do with the vampire shark?

They ended with a hodgepodge of covers from 70s rock bands and their drummer could really nail them. It was quite a show. Barenaked Ladies are a band that defiantly won me over with their live performance. They could end up on this blog again.

Herbie and the Glowfish or Hootie and Blowfish as the masses know them

This show was strangely emotional. My mom, who passed away last year, was a giant Darius Rucker fan! My sister-in-law told that me that my mom always wanted to move to South Carolina to find Darius and become friends with him. Considering how everyone loved my mom I think it would have been a real possibility. At one point Darius sang his solo country hit Alright. It's a great song about appreciating what you have. One of my moms favorites. She would have loved this show. In the 1990s during Hootie and the Blowfish's epoch my mom asked my brother Andy 'Do you know the band Herbie and Glowfish?" hence the title of this blog.

Like any great band they did all of their hits mixed in a few fan favorites and the occasionally cover, I freaked out when they played Old Crow Medicine Show's Wagon Wheel. Both bands put on an amazing show that really sent the Iowa State Fair off with bang!

Vampire Shark

Check out my store if you wanted to support the vampire shark comic!

https://ahabvanhelsing.threadless.com/?fbclid=IwAR3hJ_0BJB7_wAK2lV40__0MKcW6f2JcZU9bzgLqal7I8WMy07ezWcavCgY

Dogs I Saw

Last but not least check out my podcast Dogs I Saw

https://dogsisaw.podomatic.com/

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page