top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

Film Shoot Day 2, Flogging Molly and Social Distortion

Film Shoot Day 2

I'm not going to go into to much detail on this. Same thing as it was a couple weeks ago. Still pretty impressed with how much work goes into making only one or two scenes. We are almost done filming and I am excited to share it you once it's completed.

Flogging Molly and Social Distortion

This is maybe the third time I have seen Flogging Molly live. The first time was at a Warped Tour many years ago, warped tour had two stages set up next to each other so while one band played the other could set up. I remember watching a three piece punk band play, one guitarist, one bassist and a drummer, and next to them the band was bringing out banjos and accordions and the like. I didn't know they were Flogging Molly but did recognize a few of their songs from old compilation CDs I used to own. It was long until I became a Flogging Molly fanatic. I used to drive around my car and blare Rebels of a Scared Heart and Raise What's Left of the Flag for Me. I still say Whistles the Wind is my favorite song of all time. They were also touring with Social Distortion, I didn't get into them to much but love their self titled 1990 album.

This show was supposed to take place at the Waterworks park amphitheater but the day of the show we got hit with a lot of rain and I wore my mowing sneakers in case I got muddy. As Andrew and I pulled up to the grass parking lot we noticed plenty of parking...because there were no cars there. I started to wonder if the show got canceled or if I missed the lot, we started to pull into a parking lot and saw another car come out. A man leaned his head out and yelled "Are you going to Flogging Molly?"

"Yeah," I responded.

"it moved to 7 Flags! No one told us!" he yelled back.

It wasn't a big deal to me but we did miss the opening band, which sucked because I like finding new music, that's how I found Glorious Sons. We watched a band called The Devil Makes Three, any band that has a big stand up base finds a place in my heart. They were fun, kind of an country, blue grass sound. While the next band set up, Andrew and I drank a couple beers and stood next to a booth that was asking people to sign up to be bone marrow donors. That's where I met Eurk the Punk Rock Corgi.

You know my love for dogs so of course I asked for a picture. As you can see he was thrilled. I talked to his owner who was running the stand looking for bone marrow donors. Super cool dude who told me he toured with all these shows and was a good friend of Frank Turner, I bought a shirt from him to use as leverage to introduce me to Frank Turner. I asked him if he'd like to be on an episode of Dogs I Saw (yes I am still doing it. I have been busy and haven't had time to record it) He told me he would love to but Flogging Molly was about to start.

"How can you tell?" I asked.

"Baba O'Riley is about to play and then they will take the stage." Almost like clock work Baba O'Riley's iconic opening hook began.

I don't think Andrew was sure what to expect from Flogging Molly, his dad is a DJ on a country music station so he's been to more than a few country shows and he went to the Struts with us but this had to be a new experience for him completely. The room was so packed with old punks that it felt like a sauna and me and one dude linked arms and began dancing around. Then Flogging Molly would begin one of my favorite songs and I would look at him and scream "Yeah" before I began to sing all the lyrics and try to get him to jump with me. We weren't able to stay for Social Distortion for to long, I was really getting into their set but certain health issues I am dealing with caused me to have an early exit. Other than that it was an amazing show!

Dogs I Saw

It's been a few weeks since I have had time to get a new Dogs I Saw recorded. I hope to have another uploaded soon. If you want to be on it hit me up.

https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/dogsisaw/episodes/2019-08-12T07_47_43-07_00

Vampire Shark

Last but not least issue 4 of Ahab Van Helsing vs Nosferatu Carcharodon is out! For sale at Jays CD and Hobby or message me for a copy.

As always thank you for reading and Please SUBSCRIBE.

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page