top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

No Sleep at Wooleys

Updated: Jan 9, 2020

I don't know AJ Simmons, for all I know he's a God damn child eating monster, although I doubt people I know and consider friends would be friends with a child eating monster but we live in a time of No Judging so who knows.


Anyway, since my break from doing local stand up comedy, going back to school and wandering the American wilderness like Bigfoot;

gif

Aj has created a pretty impressive showcase. Focusing on building up local and surrounding area's comedians. Based on what I could tell he was really packing the basement area at the Social club. I have put on a couple shows there myself and I had gotten it no where near packed. I barely got other comics to show up.


His last show went a step beyond that and was taking place at Woolys, I have seen some pretty big names hit the stage there, Frank Turner, Reel Big Fish (about 50 times), Struts, Glorious Sons and many more. Putting a show there with local talent seemed ambitious to say the least.


I guess whoever this child eating psychopath is knows what he is doing because rumor has it it sold out.


The show was pretty stacked, Toll McGrane, Alex Carter, Andrew Lopez, Dante Powell, Jessica Misra, Chris Schlchting, Tonya Harding, Sam Hirchak, and Donny Townsend.


Andrew Lopez is a typical world traveling, jet setting comeidan



And Chris is a staple at comedy clubs all over the midwest



But in my humble opinion, which isn't to humble based off of what We Cozad says "No one has an ego like you." everyone of those comics could and would shine on any stage with pretty much an other comic out there.... Except for me! Right Wes!!!!


I don't want to pick favorites but I do have to say Sam Hirchak had a good 5 minutes all about the guy from B 52s and I think it was one of the funniest things I have ever heard!








I didn't have time record a new episode of Dogs I Saw but here's a classic episode where I interviewed Dogs I Saw Millie the Duck author Kaylin Von Ahnen; keep an eye out for her next Millie the Duck book. Coming out this year!


Her twitter @millietheduck



Reminder, issue 5 of Ahab Van Helsing is out now! It is at Jays CD and Hobby in Des Moines. If you're not in Des Moines message me for a digital copy.




Also check out my store at


Last but not least, as always THANKS FOR READING!

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page