top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Von Ahnen

The Caudillionaires Show

The Caudillionaires Show

I wasn't going to blog about this show, I feel like I have talked about them so much there wouldn't be much to add. Not to toot our own horn but this little comedy trio seems to have earned a nice bit of success. There are very few shows were I walk off the stage thinking "Oh God, get me out of here." I am afraid that this show was on of them, for me anyway.

I opened with my UFC joke, it got a decent chuckle and then that was followed by deafening silence for a good 10 minutes. I have one joke, about texting a girl, that never fails to get a laugh. I set the joke up and thought to myself "this will get'em." It did not! More nothing. I walked off the stage embarrassed and I wanted to make a dart for the door. In fact, it was one of those sets that was so bad that people walked by me and purposely avoided eye contact. I asked Joel to step outside with me, "Do you want to go hangout in the car?" he asked. We stood outside for a few moments when a man walked out and looked at me and said "That UFC joke," and then he gave me a huge thumbs up.



Jeff, our headliner, had the best set of the night and brought this burning crashing plane into the hanger. After the show a few people came over to us and said they enjoyed. Bought us drinks. There reaction to us after the show seemed very different to us during the show. Where was this love while I was on stage?

While chatting with one group a man told me "go over there and sit next to him. Don't say anything. Just sit next to him." I figured I had to do it but didn't know what I was in for. Was this man about to murder me? I sat down next to him. Said nothing, just sat there. Of course the man notices me and says "Why did you sit here?" Oh God, don't kill me was my thought. "No reason," I said. He looked over to that group who were convulsing with laughter.

"Did they tell you to sit here?" he asked. This time I figured the cat was out of the bag and I said "yeah."

"Dude," he started. "All week we wondered what you guys were going to be talking about? We have younger liberal guys like us and some very strict Christians. When you started with that UFC joke we all thought "OH MY GOD!" You set a weird tone for the night and it was hilarious!"

Strange how my first instinct was to run away from them and it turned out to be a fantastic evening.




Dogs I Saw


This weeks episode is dedicated to Pancake, a good girl at the animal rescue league

https://www.arl-iowa.org/adopt/180028/find-a-pet/pet-detail/

This week Jacob Beals and I talk about our movie double feature of Ford Vs Ferrari and Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood. Also about NASCAR, Indiana Jones, and his dog. Will it be a good boy???




Store

Also,

Check out my store at

As always, thanks for reading and please subscribe.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: Movies to watch while stuck inside.

Hello readers, like everyone else on this island earth I‘m hanging at home because of the quarantine. Because of my new job blogging has become less of a priority. I work 4 days a week but I’m dead ti

bottom of page